How to Unblock Someone on Instagram The Easy Way

Thanks to social media, you don’t even need to be an actor or a musician to be able to share your life updates with the world. But sometimes you just want to keep your ‘online’ life to selected groups of people only — your ex and close relatives are strictly not invited.

So you block the people whom you don’t wish to share your posts with. When you block someone on Instagram, you prevent them from:

  • Viewing your posts and stories.
  • Reaching out to you via Instagram Direct.
  • Following your account.
  • Finding you via the search tool.

Whatever your reasons are for blocking them, it will not take you more than 5 minutes to do it. Really, blocking someone on Instagram is actually very easy, even a child can do it.

But what if you decide to unblock them? Good news is you can do it and it’s as simple as blocking them. And you can do it via mobile or desktop. Read on to learn how to unblock someone on Instagram.

Blocked Account on Instagram

On Mobile

The easiest way to unblock someone on Instagram is to do it straight from your mobile phone.

Go to your Instagram profile page and tap on the humanoid icon at the bottom right corner of your screen. Then, tap on the three-horizontal-line icon at the top right corner of your screen. Your menu options will pop up.

Scroll down the ‘Options’ page until you see the ‘Blocked Users’ option under the privacy and security section.

Blocked Account on Instagram Settings

Here, you will see a list of everyone you have blocked. Click on the user account that you wish to unblock. Once you are on their profile, tap on the ‘Unblock’ button located on the right hand side of your profile picture.

Instagram will ask you if you are sure that you want to do that. Tap on ‘Yes, I’m sure.’

Confirmation to unblock an Instagram account

On Desktop

Of course, unblocking someone on Instagram via your mobile phone is easy since it’s likely that you already have the app installed on your smartphone. But, Instagram also allows you to block and unblock people on Instagram via desktop.

While Instagram makes it easy for you to block and unblock someone on Instagram, it does not make it equally easy to do it via its web portal. Don’t worry. It will still take under 5 minutes to do it!

First, you need to visit the Instagram website and log on to your Instagram account. Once you’re on it, you’ll notice the difference between the web and app version. Find the setting icon (it looks like a gear), which is located next to your Instagram name. Click on it and select ‘Privacy and Security’.

You will realize that there is no blocking and unblocking option available. That is because there is simply no list of blocked users available. In order to unblock someone on Instagram, you need to go to the Instagram search bar just over your Instagram name.

Type in the name of the user you wish to unblock. You may find a list of similar names as you scroll down the search results. This could take some time.

Once you see their profile, click on the ‘Unblock’ button. Alternatively, you can click on the three-dot icon next to it to unblock the user. The first option is easier, though.

Please note that although you have unblocked someone on Instagram, that does not mean you are friends again. That is because Instagram will remove the person you block from your followers, and you for theirs.

When you block or unblock someone on Instagram, the user will not be notified about it. In order to view their profile and see their updates on your Instagram news feed, you will need to follow them again.

Of course, once you follow them back on Instagram, they’ll notice that you had previously unfollowed them. They will likely wonder why, but they will not necessary ask you why. Well, if they do ask you for an explanation, you can choose to explain yourself or keep the reasons to yourself.

Things might get awkward after that. But if it is bothering you, you can — well — block them again.

What Happens After You Have Unblocked Someone on Instagram

As discussed earlier on, you will not receive anymore updates from the person you have unblocked on Instagram unless you follow them again. If they follow you back, they will be able to see your updates on their news feed, too.

Unblock leads to request follow

Unless your profile is private, you do not have to follow each other in order to view each other’s Instagram contents. You can view each other’s posts and stories, and send private messages using Instagram Direct again.

In fact, if you have allowed direct messages from the user before, you will be able to see all of their past messages to you. But if you have never exchanged messages via Instagram Direct, the first message you send to them will appear as a request in Instagram Direct.

On Instagram, It Is Possible to Unblock Someone Who Has Also Blocked You

Suppose the person you once blocked was aware that you had blocked them, and in return, they blocked you on Instagram. When this happens, you will not be able to view their account. You need to unblock them through the account menu.

What you can do:

  • Mention them (type @username) in a private message.

Go to Instagram Direct (a paper airplane icon) and tap + to start a conversation. Enter your Instagram username under ‘To’ (for Android) or ‘Next (for iOS). Type their username into the message bar. For example, if the user is Chris Chappell, type @chrischappell.

Then, tap ‘Send’. Now, tap on the highlighted username in the message you have just sent. By now you will be able to open the user’s profile menu, which is the three-dot icon. Select ‘Unblock’ from the menu and confirm your choice.

Note: This method will only work if the user has not changed their username.

If this trick does not work for you, you still have a couple of other ways to do it:

  • Use a web browser to find their username. For example, type https://www.instagram.com/username. Do this only if you know exactly what their username is.
  • Use Instagram search to find them.
  • Look for a photo or video of them you have saved to your collection in the past.
  • Search for any photos of them you have liked.

You might come across a situation where you want to unblock an account you have blocked in the past but only to realize that it no longer exists. In this case, it may not be possible for you to remove the account from your blocked list. You will still be able to see it on your list of ‘Blocked Users’.

In a case like this, what you can try to do is:

  • Report the account as spam or suspicious to Instagram. To do this, go to ‘Report’ and choose between ‘It’s spam’ or “It’s inappropriate’. That way Instagram may consider the account as a fake account.

Do you find these tips helpful? Perhaps you should consider making your account private in the future if privacy is really an issue to you. Otherwise, be more selective the next time you let someone into your Instagram world.

By Francesca

A travel junkie who loves writing. When Francesca is not busy working, she goes out looking for adventures or food hunting with friends. Apart from writing and traveling, Francesca also keeps herself busy with cooking, baking and writing songs.

No credit, Trial, simple signup

Recommended Posts

Share us with your friends
twitter sharing icon facebook sharing icon facebook messenger icon whatsapp messenger icon