At some point, there will be an incident that requires you to block people on Instagram. Whether that’s someone annoying you, harassing you or simply spamming your feed, this article will take you through easy steps to blocking on Instagram.
1. Search For Their Feed
Type into the Instagram search tab the name or username of the person you want to block. If they appear on your feed, you can visit their profile that way, too.
2. Click The Three Dots
Next, click the three small dots in the top right of the screen.
3. Block The Account
Once you click that, a list of options will appear. Click ‘Block’ in red letters at the top. It’s easy to block people on Instagram!
Next, Instagram will give you another chance to decide if you’re sure.
In fact, they give you an idea of what happens when you block someone on Instagram.
Basically, you disappear! They won’t be able to find your profile, posts or story on Instagram. This is beneficial for many reasons whether you have a nagging ex or a spamming cousin.
Fortunately, Instagram won’t let them know you’ve blocked them. If they search for you, they’ll just think you’re taking a social media hiatus!
To confirm you want to block them, click the word ‘Block’. This time, it’s in blue letters.
After this, the account will be blocked. Instagram will let you know that you can unblock them at any point from their profile. You can dismiss this message by clicking ‘Dismiss’.
4. You Can’t See Their Account
In fact, once you block people on Instagram, you can’t see their pictures either. This is particularly good if you’re trying to move on from a person and their new life is bringing you down. Also, it’s great if you’re cutting out toxic accounts from your Instagram feed! It’s always good to keep your social media experience a positive one.
Now, this is what their account will look like to you.
It says they have no posts yet. They do, you just can’t see them.
However, their stories and IGTV are still viewable! Let’s just hope this is a glitch on Instagram and it doesn’t work the other way around.
5. Unblock Them At Any Time
If you’re ready to let this account back into your life, you can unblock them at any point.
Simply, click the blue bar at the top that says ‘Unblock’ and viola, you’re back in!
Now, the account is unblocked. Instagram lets you know that you can block them at any time from their profile if you change your mind. For sure, it’s great that blocking and unblocking is so easy and discreet on Instagram!
6. View Their Profile Again
In fact, their profile is yours to view again right away. If it’s public, just refresh the page and all their posts will reappear.
If it’s a private account, you’ll need to request to follow them again. That might be a bit awkward to explain! Hopefully, they don’t read into it.
Another Way To Unblock
Sometimes we block accounts and forget their name or username. Certainly, that would make it impossible to search their profile if we ever wanted to unblock them in the future.
Thankfully, Instagram keeps a record of the accounts you’ve blocked.
On your profile, click the three lines in the top right and a sidebar will open up.
Click ‘Settings’ at the bottom.
Next, scroll down until you see ‘Blocked Accounts’.
When you click that, you’ll see a list of the people you’ve blocked.
Simply click the account you want to unblock and it’ll take you to their profile. With ease, repeat the steps listed above!
Once you’ve sorted out all the accounts you want to block or unblock on Instagram, you’ll certainly feel a lot better without people harassing you, spamming you or simply bringing you down.
Block People On Instagram Stories
Sometimes, we block people with good intentions, too! Maybe we’re planning a surprise for our best friend and we don’t want them to get any clues.
In fact, maybe you’re talking about something in your stories that you don’t want certain people to see. Well, you can block certain people from your stories but not from your profile altogether. This is a much more subtle way of keeping some things private.
1. Visit Your Profile Settings
Like before, open up your profile sidebar and click ‘Settings’.
2. Find Your Story Controls
Next, scroll down until you see ‘Story Controls’. This is where you can block users, monitor your message replies, allow sharing, decide where to save your stories, and select the option to share your story to Facebook.
3. Hide Your Instagram Story
For sure, it’s easy to block people on Instagram stories. Click ‘Hide Story from’.
Simply select the users you want to block. In fact, you can search their username if they don’t appear straight away. You can select as many people as you want.
To unblock, simply deselect the blocked users. They will always appear first in your list of followers.
Once they’re blocked, you can see how many users you’ve blocked from your stories.
In conclusion, you can block people on Instagram with ease and subtlety. Nobody wants to block people if everyone is going to notice it! Certainly, blocking people can keep your account secure and hassle-free.